Food is art

Art is not only the famous paintings from Picasso, Van Gogh and Monet, it isn’t just a piece of music that inspires a generation to deliver World Peace it is also the combination of certain meats, vegetables, breads, meat substitutes etc into a meal that looks great and tastes even better. There are chefs in the world of today who cook the most incredible and delightfully looking meals. One example is Gino D’Acampo. His latest cookbook, ‘Gino’s Italian Adriatic Escape’, based on the itv show ‘Gino’s Italian Escape’ is a book of recipes that anyone can put together. The simplicity of the ingredients and the method that Gino has written down the recipe should be enough to encourage people to try cooking like an Italian.

IMG_5171
Barley salad with figs, roasted onions, olives and pecorino

The image above is an example of how food can be portrayed as art. The shine on the olives, this vibrant shade of pink on the fig and the way the plate matches the green of the rocket. Food is expressive and can brighten up any table at a party. I’m no artist, believe me. I can’t draw, paint, or any of the other art ways. However, I do love to cook and create lovely meals while I’m away at University in Falmouth, and occasionally at home. Food is there to be cooked and put together into fantastic meals. Go for it!

IMG_4785
An eggcellent start to any day. Soft boiled eggs on marmite covered sourdough bread, with a coffee, naturally.
IMG_4621
Mexican salad. Look at those beautiful colours!
IMG_4316
Salmon and leak filo pastry pie with minty potatoes. Delicious!

RGE

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started