It’s a retro thing

Football shirts are a huge part to any team around the world. They are what identifies a team. The three shirts above, two football clubs, from three different times are a part of the team’s history. A shirt is a mark of togetherness. 11 players, put on these shirts before going out on to the pitch, accompanied with the roar of their supporters. They then face another team in a completely different kit. Different colour combination, a different sponsor, worn by a group of players not alike the other.

Now, I’m sure that you would like to know the identity of the players on the backs of these three shirts. Don’t worry, you’ll know soon enough. First of all, I will go through how I came to buy them. I was in Oxford buying a pair of Apple earphones in Western Computer, Gloucester Green, as mine had stopped working. I walked out of the shop and into the market, (which are on Wednesday’s, Thursday’s, Friday and Saturday). I started walking around, not really expecting to buy anything, due to saving my money for my final term at University. However, it was by luck that I spotted a clothes stall that had a rail of football shirts hanging from it. My eyes lit up. I walked over there immediately and started browsing. These three shirts were amongst a Ronaldinho, Neymar, Messi, Müller, Reus, Lampard and international shirts. I spent ages looking through the shirts, trying to pick the ones I liked the best. I asked the man running the stall how much the shirts were, and he told me. It wasn’t long after that I gave him the money.

I’m not going to tell you who I got just yet. Hold on a few more words. It’ll be worth the wait. All I’ll say is this: three masters of the beautiful game.

Over the years, there have been some absolutely beautiful shirts worn by clubs, coming out of England, Spain, Italy, you name it. Not to mention, some wonderfully designed international shirts too, but that’s not what I’m discussing today.

I thought I’d slip away from the topic at hand to discuss Boca Juniors new kits for the 2020/21 season. After 27 years away, the Argentinian side have again joined forces with Adidas after switching over from Nike. The blue shirt with the yellow band across the chest for the home version. The away one is equally impressive, have a look below.

Screenshot 2020-01-15 at 18.15.17
Adidas, well done

Ok, I’ve kept you in the dark for long enough now. So, here are some facts of the players and a mention of who they played alongside.

Shirt 1 (Ac Milan, ‘bwin’)

  • This player once scored 55 goals in 56 games as he helped PSV Eindhoven win the KNVB Cup (1995/96) and the Johan Cruyff Shield (1996)
  • He was signed for $27m by Inter Milan, a then transfer record
  • At AC Milan, he played alongside Kaka, Seedorf and Pirlo

Shirt 2 (Barcelona)

  • In one season, he and his teammates won six trophies (the sextuple)
  • He came off the bench for his debut in 2004, Deco the one coming off
  • At Barcelona, he has played alongside Yaya Toure, Seydou Keita and Alexis Sanchez

Shirt 3 (AC Milan, ‘OPEL’)

  • Before him, it was his father, but now it’s his son at the club
  • He played in eight European Cup Finals, winning five of them
  • At AC Milan, he played alongside Franco Baresi, Frank Rijkaard and Hernán Crespo

After reading these facts about the three players, the football fans amongst you have probably worked out who each one is. Each a superstar in their own right. Here is a list of achievements these players have won between them.

  • 19 league trophies
  • 31 cup/super cup trophies
  • 20 European Cup/Champions League, Europa League and UEFA Super Cup trophies
  • 7 World Cup, Confederations Cup, Copa América, u20 World Cup and Olympic Gold medal
  • 2056 appearances, 945 goals and 336 assists

See for yourself below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One Brazilian, one Argentinian and an Italian
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Zidane: “Ronaldo (Brazilian) is the best player in the world because he is the only one who passed Maldini.”
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pep Guardiola: “I tried making Messi the best player in the world, but he ended up making me one of the best managers.”
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ronaldinho: “Paolo Maldini and John Terry are two of the toughest men I have met on the field.”

Where are they now? One is the majority owner of La Liga club Real Valladolid, one is Technical Director to Ac Milan and the other is still bossing the pitch whoever he plays.

RGE

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

One thought on “It’s a retro thing

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started