Bahama Mamas: It was a pleasure

On Wednesday 23rd January 2019, I had just finished an exam, my penultimate one in fact. I then decided to treat myself with lunch. Now, I felt that going to Tesco and buying a meal deal consisting of a sandwich, bag of crisps and an Innocent Smoothie wasn’t going to be enough. Instead, I walked into Falmouth and chose Bahama Mamas as my lunch venue. My first time here too. The atmosphere was welcoming as I stepped through the front door and there were plenty of people already enjoying their food.

Bahama Mamas is a wonderful eatery in Falmouth which mixes the flavours of the Caribbean with the locally sourced craft beers. Walking in through the door was the start of a lovely experience. I made my way over to the bar and ordered lunch: Guac + toast. A simple combination of toasted sourdough bread with guacamole spread, garlic mushrooms and cherry tomatoes. A simple recipe that would be delicious in the mind of any food lover, like myself. My drink of choice was from the ‘Fresh Fruit Juice’ range. I went for Mango – a drink for you sweet tooth people. The man who served me was courteous and let me ask for my order without any interruptions.

Moving on, the colours you see as you walk in embrace the Caribbean vibe of fun and partying. The writing on the wall which caught my eye while eating is a statement that is very important in todays world. Unfortunately, we are living in a world full of Brexit, celebrities’ sexual allegations, ongoing wars in countries such as Afghanistan and Syria and many more equally devastating events. These are all life-changing and will bring with them many after effects. Let’s all try and have some fun in our lives and smile away the worry and pain that is seen most of the time on people’s faces.

img_5342
“everything’s gonna be alright” – what a lovely message

Now let’s get on to the food. Guac + Toast is the name and a tasty lunch was the game. This delight on a plate was made up of sourdough bread (my favourite), guacamole spread, garlic mushrooms and cherry tomatoes. In the near future I will definitely be making this for myself and others. Simple yet very high quality. Very easy to be made in your own home. By setting aside time in your day to cook, you will be rewarded with the food you made. Taking the easy option and picking up a ready meal from Tesco or even going out to dinner won’t give you the satisfaction that comes with choosing your ingredients, making a plan (if you’re not following a recipe) and creating a meal which smiles to you on your plate. Ingredients are there to be made into dishes which livens up the kitchen. Fruit and vegetables, protein, foods high in fat and sugars, dairy and carbohydrates – these are the five different food groups.

img_5339
Guac + Toast with fresh Mango Juice

This meal is one I would definitely recommend to a friend. The first reason is that it is healthy and full of vitamins which will help improve your every day life. Secondly, it looks very inviting on a plate. I would also recommend this to someone to have because they will then try something new, a meal which they might have never had before. As it turns out, the sweetness of the fresh mango juice complimented the slightly salty Guac + Toast. I also loved the Jamaican style music that was playing in the background – the funky beats added a new dimension to the already pleasant feel that afternoon in Bahama Mamas.

Not only do they serve high quality food, Bahama Mamas also gets creative with their cocktails. The cocktails sound great and most of them involve a taste of the Caribbean; whether that is Havana Rum, mango juice, coconut milk or lime juice. One evening I will make my way to Bahama Mamas just to try their cocktails. Being a student, obviously I would go in between 6 and 8 o’clock otherwise I’ll be paying an arm and a leg for my drinks. Cocktails are a mixture of alcohol and a mixer such as a fruit drink, lemonade, fruit juices and sometimes a syrup which matches the flavour of the drink already. Some of the drinks below also come with a garnish, which might be fresh strawberries and blueberries (Caribbean Beauty), lime (Honey Daquari) or mint for a Mai Tai. I think cocktails in general are overpriced and should be cheaper. Although, most businesses these days are about making money and ensuring that customer satisfaction is high.

screenshot 2019-01-29 at 11.16.52
Bahama Mamas sell more than cocktails, they also do craft beer, plenty of wine and soft drinks for the younger ones

If you like the sound of Bahama Mamas, then it can be located here:

15A Killigrew St, Falmouth, TR11 3PN

Bahama Mamas have both a Facebook and an Instagram social media:

https://en-gb.facebook.com/BahamaMamasFal/

https://www.instagram.com/bahamamamasfal/

Go and check out these two social media sites and let’s all build the popularity of this Falmouth based Caribbean theme cafe and tapas bar.

RGE

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started