A year of music

2019 was certainly eventful. Last year, music was ever present in my life. My earphones seemed to always be in my ears, wherever I was. Shuffling through songs in a playlist, repeatedly listening to my favourite tracks, sometimes three times in a row. My playlist is full of a range of different genres. As always, when the end of the year comes, the ‘Spotify Wrapped’ is released for everyone with an account. Spotify Wrapped is an analysis of favourite and most played songs from the year gone by. It brings them altogether in one playlist, which you can access through your app.

My top 5 songs of 2019, were as followed:

  1. Isn’t She Lovely – Stevie Wonder – Motown Love
  2. Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting) – Taron Egerton, Kit Connor – Rocketman (Music From The Motion Picture)
  3. Thunderstruck – AC/DC – The Razors Edge
  4. Highway To Hell – AC/DC – Highway To Hell
  5. The Bitch Is Back: Introduction – Taron Egerton, Sebastian Rich – Rocketman (Music From The Motion Picture)

Screenshot 2020-01-07 at 21.01.19

This is definitely a fair representation. I listened to these five songs so much last year. I love them all, they all offer something different. In the Spotify Wrapped I got, my #1 artist was Taron Egerton. After the soundtrack was released, I was instantly hooked to it and listened to the album most days. I didn’t watch the film until much later on, which I loved as well. There is a section in the ‘Spotify Wrapped’ which discusses who your top five artists. You may be able to guess some of mine. See for yourselves below.

  1. Taron Egerton
  2. Stevie Wonder
  3. Michael Jackson
  4. Elton John
  5. James Morrison

Moving on, Spotify has also decided that I’m a ‘world citizen’ with regards to my wide range of music. I listened to artists from 42 different countries in 2019, including, the United Kingdom, Australia, America, Sweden and Canada. In these artists, I was genre-fluid apparently.

fullsizeoutput_11da.jpeg
I spent 34,302 minutes listening to music on Spotify

Throughout my time on Spotify Premium (2017 onwards), my top song and top artist were never consistent. However, this is natural because artists are always bringing out new songs and you’re always discovering new tracks to listen to. You then may forget older ones which you used to always listen to. It’s when you rediscover them that you get flashbacks of first hearing them.

2017
Top Song: September Song – JP Cooper
Top Artist: Madeon

2018
Top Song: Rockin’ All Over The World – Status Quo
Top Artist: Gorillaz

2019
Top Song: Isn’t She Lovely – Stevie Wonder
Top Artist: Taron Egerton

So overall, my top genre of 2019 was pop. I wonder what 2020 will bring me.

“Alexa, play ‘Isn’t She Lovely’, by Stevie Wonder”

RGE

 

 

 

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started